About FTW

Posted: February 16, 2013 in Others, posts by John
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Welcome everyone to a new blog.

Before I go into any sort of specifics, I just thought I would introduce myself and give you some background as to what I like to do with my spare time and possibly what I will be writing about and my direction I’m hoping to take this new project into.

 Well I guess the easiest thing to do will be to introduce myself so here goes. My name is John Gibson and I am twenty nine years old. I am a carer for people with dementia during the day and at night time I can often be found in any one of a few mmorpg’s or watching TV and movies.

 Gaming wise I started out playing mmorpg’s in 2006 with World of Warcraft, which I spent a total of two years playing. I then left WoW and moved over to The Lord of the Rings Online (LOTRO) which I played for five and a half years before finally leaving that and venturing to pastures new, namely Starwars The Old Republic and Guild Wars 2, which I both still play today.

Although I don’t play WoW or LOTRO any more, I still like to keep abreast of the news and updates from both games so I can talk about them with my friends and comment on them when I feel the need and desire to.

Apart from mmorpg’s, I also play single player games a lot. Titles include the Dead Space series, Battlefield 3, the Mass Effect franchise and Dragon Age.

 

When it comes to movies, my tastes are a little more diverse than they are with my games I like to play. I am a huge fan of sci-fi and horror movies but also enjoy a good murder mystery or drama movie. Some of my favourite movies are the Alien series, American History XSilent Hill and Rocky I and II.

When it comes to Television I have a huge taste for American shows although I do like some shows from here in the United Kingdom. As with movies, I have a wide taste of  shows I love to watch, ranging from the political like Question Time and This Week, to The Wire and Homeland.

As for this blog and it’s purpose, well I guess it’s a place for me to talk about the issues which I find to be important and to spark debate and conversation with like-minded people or even people who totally disagree with me on the subjects. The topics, I’m hoping to make varied and not to specifically focus on any one thing but there probably will be times where it may look like All I want to talk about is one thing. To help combat this I’m hoping to be getting a few guest writers involved and to be posting some of their work every now and again. They may have a different take on a subject than I do but it’s always good to have more than one opinion on any subject.

 Well I guess that’s enough for now on my hopes for this venture.

 I’m always happy to receive any comments on any work that I post so feel free to do so.

 John Gibson

Comments

Leave a Reply

